Tag Archives: wildlife

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer likely will mean lower wildlife numbers this hunting season, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Dr. John Tomecek, AgriLife Extension statewide wildlife specialist, Thrall, said deer, quail and turkey numbers would likely be affected. Fewer forbs and reduced nutritional value in browse and other food crops along with typical predation are contributing factors, he said. Hunters… Read More →

Maureen Frank hired as new AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist at Uvalde

She will serve 64 counties in agency’s West, Southwest and South districts Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Swift, 830-278-9151, twswift@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu UVALDE — Dr. Maureen Frank has joined the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Uvalde as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist for the agency’s West, Southwest and South districts. Frank provides support to AgriLife Extension county agents and participates in program development, result demonstrations and agent training. She also develops educational materials related to wildlife and… Read More →

Yearlong AgriLife Extension wildlife educational series kicks off in San Angelo on Feb. 10

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Two Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service staffers are collaborating on a yearlong project aimed at providing wildlife education opportunities to West Texans. Josh Blanek, AgriLife Extension agent in Tom Green County, and Dr. John Tomecek, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist at San Angelo, will conduct “Wildlife Wednesdays,” a series of 11 wildlife related one-hour seminars from noon to 1 p.m. starting Feb. 10. The series will cover a variety of topics tailored to the time of… Read More →