Category Archives: News

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on the Texas A&M University West Campus. Dr. Mark Hussey, vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences at Texas A&M, College Station, said the $32.5 million building is the fourth to be constructed in the Agriculture and Life Sciences complex, a group of buildings housing staff  “dedicated to feeding our world, protecting our environment, enriching our youth, improving our… Read More →

Maureen Frank hired as new AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist at Uvalde

She will serve 64 counties in agency’s West, Southwest and South districts Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Todd Swift, 830-278-9151, twswift@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu UVALDE — Dr. Maureen Frank has joined the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Uvalde as the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service wildlife specialist for the agency’s West, Southwest and South districts. Frank provides support to AgriLife Extension county agents and participates in program development, result demonstrations and agent training. She also develops educational materials related to wildlife and… Read More →

AgriLife Extension names Amanda Gobeli to state quail study post

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 325-653-4576, agobeli@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Amanda Gobeli as the new associate in quail studies. Gobeli is headquartered at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo. “Amanda will be working with AgriLife Extension agents and other ‘students of quail’ in the quest to reverse the decline of quail,” said Dr. Dale Rollins, state coordinator for Texas A&M AgriLife’s Reversing the Quail Decline Initiative at… Read More →

Groups make education of chronic wasting disease a priority

With the appearance of chronic wasting disease (CWD) in a Texas deer in July, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others have made educating the hunting public about this disease and the necessary precautions to take a priority. On July 1, a positive case of CWD was verified in a captive white-tailed deer in Medina County outside of San Antonio. The first and only other case was reported in far west Texas in 2012. “Chronic wasting disease is a condition that affects the nervous system of deer,… Read More →

AgriLife Extension offers new livestock guardian dog publication

Renewed producer interest prompted the work Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-653-4576,  tomecek@tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds.” This oft used nod to the U.S. Postal Service could as easily describe the work ethic of good livestock guardian dogs, according to Texas A&M AgriLife officials at San Angelo. Personnel from Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the… Read More →